This is The Real Mom Life

This morning I got Tater a bowl of Cheerios.  It made me smile, made me think to myself…  This is the mom life.  I mean, this is what I pictured when I thought about being a mom.  Getting my kids breakfast and helping them get dressed for the day.  Or watching The Little Mermaid fifty times in a row.  Or singing Frozen songs in the shower with Arlie because she asks me to.  I love all of it.

I always pictured things being calm and kind of fuzzy around the edges with serenity.  The reality is a lot more like a truck covered in mud, but I love it.  I really like being a parent.  I like the tasks, and I especially like it when these moments happen that I see as perfect.  Like walking to the mailbox together and it starting to rain.  And getting to watch Arlie run through the rain with her face towards the sky so she can feel it on her face.  My heart just about bursts in these moments and I can’t believe that it is my life.

The struggle to become parents was short for us.  We were lucky to get where we are, even with the loss.  And we’re happy.  Stressed beyond belief, but happy.  Kids do something to you, beyond changing your physical life.  Its amazing how full my heart can feel at times.  How I can physically feel the fullness at times.  It really blows my mind.  These little people are really and truly the best things that have ever happened to me.

Leave a Reply

